Nationality and culture


The Organisation

  • 23 Member States
  • Cyprus and Slovenia are Associate Members in the pre-stage to membership
  • India, Lithuania, Pakistan, Turkey and Ukraine are Associate Member States
  • Observer states and organizations 
  • Non-member states with co-operation agreements
  • Other non-member states having scientific contacts with CERN

The personnel

  • CERN employees just over 3,000 people
  • Some 13,000 visiting scientists come to CERN for their research
  • Over 600 institutes and universities around the world use CERN’s facilities

For further information regarding the CERN personnel, please consult the annual personnel statistics.